Pod Your Reef

Hi fin goby in a 5g

Catherine

Hello,

I’m looking into keeping a 5 gallon reef tank and I’ve heard people recommend single gobies in a 5 gallon. Are there any types of hi fin gobies that can be kept in such a small tank? Or would I be better off with inverts and a goby? I’m new to saltwater and have only previously kept freshwater aquariums so any fish/invert recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks!

M. Tournesol

😬 5 gallons seems to be too small for a hi fin goby. Some did it, but a 10 gallons would be better. I had mine with his shrimp in a shallow 7 gallons before he decided to do some carpet surfing. 

Look at the guide for other idea :

Whether that's enough space would probably depend on the shape of the tank and how you scape. High-fins are a shrimpgoby, so they aren't very active. 

I'm not much of a fan of that guide, as it recommends fish for a half-gallon tank. That's too small to keep a fish in, both in terms of space and in terms of parameters. A lot of the fish listed for most of the other tank sizes are iffy at best, too. 

Any of the trimma gobies are just fine in a pico tank, or you could get a clown goby. If you can find one for sale (check KP Aquatics), a roughhead blenny is a very cute and somewhat unique option, as long as you don't mind your fish sitting in a hole all day. Granted, high-fin gobies also sit in a hole all day, but they're a bit easier to spot. Really, any perching fish that only hits 1.5" or less should be fine. Except possibly neon gobies- those can be kinda lively. 

• Like 2
1 hour ago, Tired said:

Whether that's enough space would probably depend on the shape of the tank and how you scape. High-fins are a shrimpgoby, so they aren't very active. 

I'm not much of a fan of that guide, as it recommends fish for a half-gallon tank. That's too small to keep a fish in, both in terms of space and in terms of parameters. A lot of the fish listed for most of the other tank sizes are iffy at best, too.