Top Shelf Aquatics

fenderchamp's 3.5 gal bow front

fenderchamp

This is my first reef tank.   I keep a couple of Orandas in a 40 breeder, the 2 I have were born in the tank, I've been keeping them for just about 2 years.  I do a full water change every week.  I pick up blood worms for them every week or so at the LFS 10 minutes for my house in Omaha.  About a year ago I noticed, and was intrigued by the fairly extensive frag tanks that they have.  I used to keep saltwater fish, a little bit, in the late 80's, I had a 29 Gallon high with a metal halide in a homemade hood and a Whisper HOB power filter pulling water through an under gravel filter.  I had a big anemone and a clownfish.  anyhow I've been out of saltwater, and I wasn't that big into it then anyhow, for... a long time.   

I started reading some of the pico journals and build threads and was pretty impressed by the simple pico startup sticky thread and many of cool pico tank journals and reef bowl journals, so I decided to start up a tank. My goal is to get a few coral frags, I'm not really sure which kinds, and see what happens in a year or so of growing them.  Initially I just want to change the water and clean the tank  and see if I can learn to do it competently.

The tank is a 3.5 gallon bow front Aquatop.  I have a heater and powerhead in it, and a AI prime light.  I just put water in it today and 2 tiny hermit crabs and piece of live rock.  I mixed the water with RODI water I can get at the LFS.  I bought a little electronic Refractometer/Thermometer and a pail full of Red Seas salt and a little 100watt heater and a powerhead for the mixing bucket.  I intend to change all the water every week, like seems to be a popular approach around here, and I do it for my goldfish too, and it's been pretty effective so far for them.