inTank Media Baskets

LED reef lighting dangerous?!

Salty_Snack

Salty_Snack

I was doing a significant amount of research into constructing my first DIY LED reef lighting and came across a post on a different forum questioning whether or not LED reef lights were safe since they produce a great deal of light in the blue spectrum. After spending many hours reading about this topic I've learned that the alleged hazard of LED's are two fold.

1. A substantial amount of light emitted from LED's is in the blue end of the visible spectrum, mid 400 nm. This light is not energetic enough to ionize molecules but does present some sort of long term exposure risk. (I'm a Chemist, not a Biologist so if there are any biologist out there reading this please chime in)

2. The light emitted from an LED, unlike the light emitted from a CF, PC, MH, is a point source similar to a laser with the exception that it is not a coherent beam.

The hazard from light sources is broken down into Risk Groups 0 through 3 (RG-0 to RG-3). RG-0 and RG-1 carry no warning since they have no or limited exposure risk. RG-2 has the warning "Do not stare at operating lamp. May be harmful to the eyes." and RG-3 has the warning "Do not look at operating lamp. May result in eye injury."

For a detailed explanation see: http://www.dominant-semi.com/userfiles/fil...nt_LED-VerB.pdf

Looking at Cree's own XLamp eye safety publication, http://www.cree.com/products/pdf/XLamp_eyeSafety.pdf there LED's actually have between an RG-1 and RG-3 rating for Blue Light (BL) and Blue Light Small Source (BLSS) that varies by model.

The XR-E CW, RB, and B all are RG-2 for BL and the CW and B are RG-2 BLSS while the RB are a RG-3 for BLSS. THE XP-E CW, RB are both RG-1 for BL and the XP-E B and XP-G CW are RG-2 for BL. Nothing was given for the XP series with regards to BLSS.