Pod Your Reef

REEFROOKS 10G ADA 45-P

reefrook

current fts

IMG_5052.jpg

hi all....always wanted to start up my own thread but was too lazy too till now.

as my username suggests, i'm new to the game. 5 months back i found an old 10 gal aga in my basement and started my first reef tank. then after countless nights on NR, looking at the many beautiful tanks people got on here, i was overwhelmed with feelings of "i should of..." or "why didn't i....." or "my tanks a pos." so about a month ago i received my refund check from my school loans and went to work!

My first tank, as mentioned before was an old 10 gallon aga. i had a modded AC70 w/ chaeto, koralia nano, and a PC dual satellite.

DSC01954.jpg

i was kicking myself for not shelling out the loot for a better light because i thought i'd be happy with it. i was wrong. also, why didn't i just buy a new 10 gallon aga which is less than $15. i was stuck with one that let out an extraordinary amount of salt creep and had a bunch of scratches which annoyed the f outta me. but whatever...live and learn right.

so once my funds were in, i ordered a 10 gallon ADA, found a used sunpod 150w in the NR classifieds (thanks tangov559!). while that was coming in, i put together a sump/refugium, stand, and pvc overflow

(heard you couldn't drill ADA tanks.) couldn't have done any of it without NR. I then transfered the LR and livestock. luckily, no cycle. had everything setup just in time for the CMAS frag swap..($100 takes get you a lot at these shindigs!)

so here are some shots of my new tank

again, i am new to the hobby so please feel free to advise as i am eager to learn

P8200192-1.jpg

FTS 09/10/2010

IMG_4654.jpg

• Replies 221
  • Created
  • Last Reply
That looks awesome! Nice work....I'm jealous :D

Thanks! But you got nothing to be jealous about. Love your tank. Especially the ric carpet. Thinkin of doing something similar if you don't mind.