Innovative Marine Aquariums

Caribbean Cube

johnmauser

Hi all!

Heres a little background info, Ive been keeping SW for about 15 years and I'm also an aquarist for the NC Aquarium at PKS. I've always kept fowlr but was recently bitten by the coral bug. My wife graciously allowed me to put a fourth aquarium in the house.

I plan to keep this post updated as I go along. So far I have the Oceanic 30g cube, stand, cpr bakpak skimmer, and Sunpod 150 MH set up. I have live sand and about 15lbs of rock that I will be moving out of another tank I'm taking down. I also have another 20lbs of Haitian live rock curing at work. I also have a maxi jet, a rotating powerhead, and a titanium heater on the way.

I'm shooting for a caribbean theme with the main Corals being ricordea florida, zoanthid polyps, gorgonians, and acropora. I'll also throw in a cleanup crew, a cleaner shrimp and some sort of peaceful caribbean fish or two.

Here's a few boring pics. They'll get more exciting as I go.

Thanks

Johnpost-18851-1142648398_thumb.jpgpost-18851-1142648420_thumb.jpgpost-18851-1142648434_thumb.jpg

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My mom has a yellowhead jawfish in her reef tank. They're definitely the coolest fish.

I also have a caribbean themed 50g breeder that I set up a few months ago. It has 40# hatian live rock, caleurpa, blue legs, atraea, queen conch, cowrie snails and a small french angel. I'll post pics of that too.

travisurfer

where in NC are you located? great tank too. i wanted a carib tank, but my 20H is supposedly too small for a cherub. keep us posted.

Travis,

I live in Swansboro but work for the NC Aquarium at PKS near Atlantic Beach. I take it from your sig that you live on the coast too. As far as the cherubs go, people reccomend at least a 30g...but most of those fish don't grow over 2" so I don't think they would be too cramped in a 20g.