Coral Vue Hydros

Waterbox Clear Mini 6 DIY AIO

mmsoucie

Long time lurker, I've finally decided to post a tank journal...  I’ve been doing freshwater for 30 years or so (as long as I can remember), and started a 20 gallon nano about a year and a half ago.  I'm going to try to hit the highlights and keep this short and simple because I do have a tendency to ramble.  

I used a Waterbox Clear Mini 6 to build a custom AIO using 1/8" acrylic.  I originally planned to have this tank at work but they decided it wasn't allowed so It's going on my bedside table.  I started cycling with dry rock, sand, and ceramic discs in a 5 gallon bucket maybe 2 months ago.  I occasionally dosed microbacter 7 and added some fish/coral food here and there.

Display: Waterbox Clear Mini 6 with custom diy AIO

Rock: US Live Rock 5# (Plus some dry rock I had laying around for support)

Sand: CaribSea OceanDirect (left over from last build and no longer ocean direct)

Salt: Reef Crystals

Lighting: Noopsyche K7 Mini

Return Pump: 165 gph cheap amazon pump with 1/4" VCA random flow generator 

Heating: 50w amazon heater with led display.

Wavemaker: None, but I may add a hygger mini if when I need more flow

Filtration: Small bag of ceramic discs, filter floss, carbon/gfo as needed.  Mostly relying on planned 50% water changes.

Top Off: Amazon Knock off

Aquarium Lid: Some glass left over from another tank that's not in use right now.  I might rig up something that fits a little nicer in the future.

Doser: Manual (in the future if needed)

Dosing: All for reef (I use AFR on my 20 gallon.  Its not really needed on the pico yet, but when the time comes that's what I'll use)

Current clean up crew: 2 tiny hermit crabs, 1 nassarius snail, 1 trochus snail, 1 cerith snail, 1 hitch hikin feather duster

For livestock I’m planning on having a clown goby (probably green clown goby).  Maybe a pom pom crab or cleaner shrimp at some point.