Innovative Marine Aquariums

salty.tiffy's 1st ever saltwater tank!

sweeder.tanks

sweeder.tanks

Hello nano-reef friends!

I wanted to write up an intro post and get into the community.  I've been lurkin' for a few weeks now and thought it was time to start partaking in the discussion. 🙂

For a quick intro, I've been keeping freshwater tanks on and off for about 10 years now. I was always intimidated by the saltwater side of the hobby because of the startup/ongoing costs and perceived "complicated-ness" of it. I always thought that for a successful reef tank you need a really big aquarium (like, 100+ gallons) with a sump and multiple other products that I'd never even heard of when setting up my freshwater tanks. But then I found this forum and was totally inspired and given hope by the countless beautiful and flourishing AIO tanks that you guys have shared! I loved the idea of having one tank with a section in the back (or side, for peninsula styles!) as a place to keep everything you need. Turns out you don't actually NEED a protein skimmer, reactors, and a separate sump!

Anyway, now that I'm a few weeks into my research phase, I've learned a TON and have come to a few decisions about what I'd like for my first little reef:

1. I know I want to have a system with softies and LPS corals. Some that I've really been drawn to are zoas, acans, and gorgonians. I only want non-aggressive species because I hate the idea of my corals hurting each other!

2. I want an AIO system that isn't too big, to make maintenance/water changes as simple as possible (for some reason the idea of making my own saltwater is super intimidating!). The two I have my eye on and am still having trouble deciding between are the Fluval Evo 13.5 gallon and the Biocube 16 gallon. I want something that comes with a lid/lighting built in to reduce evaporation and keep costs down on needing to buy separate LEDs.