Cultivated Reef

First s.w. Tank 32g

Michael78

I plan on documenting my tank and since I am new to sw I would appreciate any critique/advice.  I will also update as the cycle progresses and what was used.. hopefully won’t take to long but I’m patient so I can wait.

32g bio cube Leaving everything stock for now.

20 lbs Arag alive pink Fiji sand

25 lbs caribsea life rock (dry)

Marine land 150w heater (Temporary) considering the hygger with the digital display)

Liqa-gen 5 stage R/o/di 75 g.p.d. For the water

Instant ocean sea salt

Just gonna run Filter floss For now

Jebao SOW Wave Maker sow-4

May consider a skimmer after cycle. Any recommendations? all my reasearch points to the tunez 9001

Added Bio-spira bacteria and

api quick start nitrifying bacteria today.. Shut the filter off for a bit to let the bacteria settle however have the wave maker on very low setting.. gonna turn filter on shortly then after another hour add some ammonia. Will document measurements as they come. 

• Like 2

Yay!, following along, 

My only two recommendations would be to switch to using Instant Ocean Reef crystals once you're going to start adding corals. You would do this gradually with your normal water changes. Don't do it at once. Reason for this is it has the proper levels to keeping corals and should provide enough Alk, Magnesium, Calcium etc... with just water changes for the time being. Normal instant ocean has fairly low levels of these components. If you only plan on ever keeping soft corals you could get by with regular instant ocean. 

As for a skimmer you probably won't need one at all but they are beneficial to have. I just added one at the 3 month mark and a very small lime wood stone type at that. (check my build thread in signature). If you do want to add one I hear good things about the Tunze skimmers so you can't go wrong there.

Good luck, you'll do fine, I can tell you did a lot of research first... and post lots of pics! 

• Thanks 1

29 mar 2020