Pod Your Reef

Nano reef setup?

Jens_Reef

Hi,

My name is Jens and I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have kept planted tanks for the last 5 years but a reef tank always been on my bucket list.

Because a few people told me it is very hard and it is a little bit scary when you read everything you need to keep an eye on. I never went for it.

But now it is time to start my first reeftank.

Before I buy all the equipment I wanna hear you guys opinions on the setup I am thinking about.

-Waterbox 20 gallon cube   (I might go crazy and buy the Waterbox aio 30.2 but whit the same brands of the equipment from below and the stronger versions of it)

-Tune silent 150- 800l 

-AI Prime 16HD (the new one)

-Tunze Doc 9001 skimmer

-Red Sea live pink reef sand

-CaribSea South Seas Base Rock ( box of 18kg)

-AutoAqua Smart ATO micro 

-RODI Premium line 190 (Not sure about this one yet)

-Jecod/Jebao SLW-20 Wave maker

-Seachem Matrix bio media

-Aqua Medic Titanium Heater 100 W whit the heat controller

I also have a 20 gallon long laying around that I can turn into a sump but I don't know how I would make it work whit the waterbox cube whit build in filtration.

Any more recommendation before I buy all the equipment?

Greetings,

Jens

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Jens_Reef said:

Hi,

My name is Jens and I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have kept planted tanks for the last 5 years but a reef tank always been on my bucket list.

Because a few people told me it is very hard and it is a little bit scary when you read everything you need to keep an eye on. I never went for it.

But now it is time to start my first reeftank.

Before I buy all the equipment I wanna hear you guys opinions on the setup I am thinking about.

-Waterbox 20 gallon cube   (I might go crazy and buy the Waterbox aio 30.2 but whit the same brands of the equipment from below and the stronger versions of it)

-Tune silent 150- 800l 

-AI Prime 16HD (the new one)

-Tunze Doc 9001 skimmer