Innovative Marine Aquariums

JanvEeckelen

JanvEeckelen

Hey Guys. 

I am new on this forum, so I will introduce myself first. My name is Jan and I am from holland (so excuse me for my English I hope it will suffice). After reading a lot for months I finally dived in the saltwater world. I have over 30 years of freshwater experience and always wanted my own reef tank. Now time permits so... you guys will understand. 

As always I prepared very well (at least in my opinion), but I still encountered a problem. My tank is a 30 gallon which is up and running for two months now and was cycled using Red Sea Reef Mature. My parameters were steady for several weeks and about one week ago I bought my first clownfish. Two beautiful clownfish (first generation tank bred). After introducing them in my tank the small one ate directly but the larger one was a bit afraid. The day after I fed them again and since then the larger one is eating like a pig and the smaller one is not reacting to whatever I introduce. (Pellet food, brine shrimp, mysis and a marine mix freezer food) the first day I noticed some white feces by both clowns however I never saw this again. (Stress?)

After gathering a lot of information over the last week I bought prazipro (which takes 10 days to arrive at my doorstep). Do you guys have any suggestions what I should do. At first I hoped he was just to nervous to eat but now I think something is wrong. Especially since the larger one is behaving perfectly! 

My parameters are:

zero amonia 

zero nitrite

2 nitrate 

salinity is 35

Temp 26 degrees Celsius 

kh around 10

ca 450

mg 1400

i know I made a big mistake by not quaranteening the fish. Believe me... this will NEVER happen again. So the second question I have is: what meds should I use when quaranteening a new fish. 

Thank you guys in advance! 

Welcome to Nano-Reef.com.