Cultivated Reef

Pico Reef Jar

AnthonyPf

I am new to Nano-Reef.com

I have set up a pico reef jar in my office and would like to share with everyone.

The set up includes:

3 Gallon jar (The size is an estimate)

3 21 LED lamps

In tank filter

Hydor mini heater to be placed in the sand

5lbs of live sand

5lbs live rock

Let me know what you think.

post-65007-1299014945.jpg

post-65007-1299014958.jpg

post-65007-1299014969.jpg

post-65007-1299014983.jpg

• Replies 141
  • Created
  • Last Reply

:welcome: Lookin pretty awesome so far!

What kind of filter are you using and how much flow does it provide? And Im not exactly sure, but your sand might not be deep enough to get the benefits of a deep sand bed so you might want to remove an inch or two--not 100% on this though, hopefully someone will chime in who knows better

:welcome: Lookin pretty awesome so far!

What kind of filter are you using and how much flow does it provide? And Im not exactly sure, but your sand might not be deep enough to get the benefits of a deep sand bed so you might want to remove an inch or two--not 100% on this though, hopefully someone will chime in who knows better

The filter is a Duetto 50. I got it many years ago when I had a small turtle tank. The filter is small but moves the water well.

The sand is about 3 inches deap at its deepest. I have a Nanocube DX12 at home with less sand and it seems to be doing well.

Hmm would probably reduce it down to an inch, consensus seems to be you need at least 5 inches to make it a DSB and anywhere from like 2-4ish inches risks the possibility of forming nasty crud that can bomb your tank when it finally escapes

the live rock is amazing plus those are laser clean pics. the pico is sharp I really am most curious to know how long it takes the system to increase salinity say from .023-.024, how long is that range? can you get by with a topoff every other day...