ReefCleaners.org

Crocea clam w/ stock Aquapod lighting okay?

WaLieN

I picked up a Crocea Clam from a LFS the other day. Some have been saying that under stock PC lighting, it should be fine. Others say that it will need some stronger MH lights. Do you guys think it would be fine under my stock PC lighting? Also, I dont do any additives aside from feeing them phytoplankton once in a while. Should I start buffering with calcium and stuff?

Clownfishcrazy1117

I would recommend getting MH lights. Even if it could survive, stronger lighting will 1. Allow you to get a larger variety of coral, 2. Make the clam much happier. But I'm not an expert. It might be able to thrive under lower lighting. Someone else should know more. :)

Crocea clams are the toughest of the clams to keep. They need high light intensity, stable params, and tons of trace elements to thrive.

All three of these conditions are nearly impossible to provide in a nano. Clams are for the experienced aquarist. Your post implies that you really don't know what you are doing here.

My advice is take it back to the LFS. Someday, maybe try a Tridacna Derasa, they are the easiest to care for, but still pushing it.

My crocea clams are on the rock up by my sps under 250 watts of halide along with 130 watts of PC....that should answer your question

winterparkmg