Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Fewskillz' 46 gallon bowfront

fewskillz

Hello Everybody! Been posting for a week or so, lurking for much longer than that. On June 30, 2006 I purchased my first real attempt at a marine aquarium. I've been keeping freshwater aquariums for the past 6 or 7 years. Still have a nice 29 gallon Tetra tank in my bedroom, it would get turned into a reef too if I weren't so attached to my silver dollar tetras.

My tank:

A 46 gallon BowFront with a 2x96 Coralife PC. I bought the tank all established with about 60 pounds of LR and 80 pounds of LS (about a 4 inch deep sand bed). The previous owner had worked at the LFS for 4 or 5 years and basically just stopped taking care of this tank about 2 months ago. He had gotten a bad case of hair algae and just turned the lights off to kill it. The only survivors were 1 Bi-color Pseudochromis, a handful of mushrooms, one colony of unidentified polyps and one unidentified soft coral, I guess it's some kind of leather.

FTS from just a few minutes ago:

07-15-06FTS2.jpg

The tank has been setup for 2 weeks now and all params seem to be back to normal after my 5 or 6 water changes. He had been topping off with tap water those last few months of neglect, so I wanted to get as much of that out of there as possible. So I let it go through its own mini-cycle, and everything seems ready to go.

FTS with just the actinics:

ActinicBluescropped.jpg

I am still trying to get a good picture of the surviving corals, the bowfront makes things tricky. The leather? is the light colored fleshy looking growth on the top left, with the mushrooms all being on the rock just to the right of the that, and the polyp colony is right in the middle of the aquascaping.