Top Shelf Aquatics

grow your own pearls?

polyppetey

polyppetey

I was just helping out my kid with her homework,"how pearls are made"

Anyway has anyone ever had a pearl oyster in their tank?? I recall many years ago when I worked in a restaurant we got in live pearl oysters for a special event. Each guest got to open their oyster to reveal a small pearl, sometimes 2 or three.

While doing some research I came across a reference to the biggest pearl in the world worth about 40 million dollars!!!! from a Tridacna gigas (sound familiar??)

Here is a link to it

http://www.thebeadsite.com/REC-PRL.html

Could we figure a way to pay for out hobbies with this one??

Please no flames I'm just doing some saltwater dreaming here.

yankee boy
I was just helping out my kid with her homework,"how pearls are made"

Anyway has anyone ever had a pearl oyster in their tank?? I recall many years ago when I worked in a restaurant we got in live pearl oysters for a special event. Each guest got to open their oyster to reveal a small pearl, sometimes 2 or three.

While doing some research I came across a reference to the biggest pearl in the world worth about 40 million dollars!!!! from a Tridacna gigas (sound familiar??)

Here is a link to it

http://www.thebeadsite.com/REC-PRL.html

Could we figure a way to pay for out hobbies with this one??

Please no flames I'm just doing some saltwater dreaming here.