SaltCritters.com

Pico video with mantis shrimp

ninjafish

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hey man that's cool.wht do you feed him? besides poor hermit crabs?=D

i'm plannng to get a smasher or something soon, hopefully. but im not sure wht to feed and where to get it? can i feed things from the supermarkets like shrimp, clams, mussels...etc? and if i feed shrimp is it purely raw or cooked? and will a smasher take fish?

Matt,

I am new to this whole thing as well. I have snails and hermits in the tank just so Ike has something to smash. I have heard that they can lose their dactyls if they don't use them enough. Besides that, he loves krill. Others feed shrimp and clam meat from the grocery store as well. Good luck, they are great pets!

- Chad

That is a great idea! He seems to prefer the krill to live food - next time I tuck some inside a snail shell and make him work for it (and it's cheaper than $2.50 a pop). Good work!

- Chad

thanks fish..while thinkin about it, ur shrimp in the vid reminds me of muhammed ali or mike tyson or something. LoL. been into boxing lately. when i get mine imma name it after one of those guys ;)

It's funny you mention it. I named him Ike because, I wanted to name our kid that when he is born but my wife wouldn't allow it because the name reminds her of Ike Turner who used to beat Tina Turner. ??

And guess what boy's name we have managed to come to agreement on?

... Tyson!

Go figure (if she hasn't heard of Mike Tyson, I'm not gonna tell her). :P

- Chad

That was a great movie - I particularly liked how the suspense grew at the beginning, though my favorite was the shot of him picking blue hermit crab legs out of his "teeth".

I laughed, I cried - it became a part of me.

Davinaster,

Lol, well then I've done my job!

The hermit leg thing kills me too. From watching the video, I don't think Ike spits it out because it's inedible, or because he's full...

I think it's just a gesture of contempt ???

- Chad