Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

MayEye's 15 Gallon Innovative Marine Reef Tank

MayEye

This is going to be my journal for my first-ever saltwater tank. I've been keeping freshwater tanks for several years. Though I enjoy my current 55 gallon planted low-tech cichlid tank, I found myself itching for a new challenge. My ultimate goal is that when my freshwater tank runs its course and most of the fish have passed from old age, I can decide to either upgrade my saltwater tank or just keep it to the 15 gallon depending on how passionate I am (and how much money I have.)

My goals for this 15 gallon tank:

1. Stick to a cohesive color theme, keep the aesthetic simple. It's really tempting to get the cheapest, most neon corals available, but I prefer the overall look of a tank with just a couple colors. My goal right now is to go for purples, and they should provide great contrast against the fish I'm planning.

2. Take it incredibly slow. I've ripped through a terrifying number of books, forum posts, and Youtube videos on reef keeping over the past 6 months. I've meticulously planned and re-planned and re-re-planned everything I'm going to do. That said, I don't think I'm ready. I'm positive there will be sudden financial costs that I didn't foresee, so I want to be sure I have a comfortable surplus of money set aside for the tank. The last thing I want to do is rush and cheap out on something important just to have to buy a better version again later.

3. Make it accessible. One of the things I dislike about my 55 gallon freshwater tank is that it's often out of sight, and it's in a tight spot that makes maintenance annoying. I've decided the reef tank will go in our living room where I can see it close-up right from the couch.