Pod Your Reef

What is this and how do I get rid of it

Minireeftank

Minireeftank

I have been battling what I thought was diatoms for 6 months and I’m at a loss, cleaning it constantly, have tried silicate removers etc as i was advised that would help, but when I got a silicate test kit no silicates showed up, my paramaters haven’t changed their what they’ve always been and I’ve tried black outs but it always comes back and it grows so quickly 

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

While the appearance is sometimes similar to cyanobacteria (cyano), it's most likely dinoflagellates (dinos).  I assume that nutrient (phosphate and nitrate) levels have bottomed out.  Dinos are often a result of using dry rock (with lack of biodiversity) and low nutrient levels (which restricts photosynthetic competition to dinos).  Often water changes seem to make the outbreak worse.

Treatment options for dinos usually involves stopping nutrient export (like water changes), and even dosing phosphate and nitrate.  In addition, people often try to build up the biodiversity by adding pods and even live rock that has been in the ocean.  In addition, the free swimming species can benefit from UV sterilization (there are special recommendations for treating dinos).

There are endless posts and articles on dinos if you search the web for them.  You'll see people removing their sand beds, dosing hydrogen peroxide, etc.  Note that some of these "treatments" are not compatible with each other; for example, dosing hydrogen peroxide can actually reduce or harm biodiversity.  I'm not really an expert on the treatment of dinos; however, there has been much written about it.

• Thanks 1
banasophia