Innovative Marine Aquariums

20 Gallon IM Peninsula

snostorm

My new Nano adventure.

I have pretty much had a Nano reef in some form or another for 16 years.  I still have the pair of Clowns from my first tank.  Following my most recent move I transitioned to a Biocube 32.  Got new Sand and dumped my rock in and my Clowns and there they have stayed for 5 years. Did the Steves LED retro....kinda drifted in and out of interest but my Clowns have always been with me. Their final Tank is currently undergoing a fishless cycle, which I have never done before.  This Tank:

20 Gallon IM Nuvo 2 Peninsula

AI Prime 16 HD

They threw me the Nuvo Skim skimmer (which was nice)

20 lbs of Aqua Forest AF Rock

20 Lbs Carib sea special grade.

APS Stand.

Waiting to see signs of Nitrification.  Ammonia and Dr Tims.  No Ammonia drop 5 days in.  Holding steady at 2.0 ppm.

Initial goal will be to bring my Pair of Clowns, a Bi-color Blenny, A royal Gramma, and a cleaner shrimp into the new tank. I have never had a tank of this design and quality.  The IM tanks sure are slick. 

308576130_5859708320720046_1696054787503989736_n.jpg

• Like 4

It seems my fishless cycle sure is taking its time.  My suspicion is the bottle of Dr Tims I got from Amazon was trash.  Ammonia holding steady at 2.0 ppm

9 hours ago, LazyFish said:

Looks like I'm not the only one who runs mine flush against the wall rather than as a peninsula. I put a random flow generator on mine and it works realy well. The corals realy like it.

actually its up against a half wall ..behind are stairs.

Getting nitrite, nitrate.  I'm 2 weeks into my fishless cycle. Things are progressing nicely, especially after I seeded my tank with some sand from my biocube.  Its kinda sad looking at my old tank knowing its days are numbered. It has served me well.  But the shiny new hotness sitting right next to it pretty much seals its fate.