Cultivated Reef

Evo 13.5 with InTank Media Baskets

timsierramist

timsierramist

I've been reefing for a few years, but I've started something I've always wanted to do. A nano tank!

I bought a Fluval Evo 13.5 with a chamber 1 and chamber 2 InTank Media Baskets and am curious how some of you folks have set up yours and what media you have placed in each compartment. 

Right now I have filter floss in top shelf of my first chamber media basket, carbon at the bottom of my first chamber media basket and Sea Lettuce in the bottom of my second chamber basket and that's about it for now. 

What else have you folks added?

Thanks for the tips!

• Like 2

Personally, outside the filter floss to keep the back compartment clean, nothing else is required. That ulva sea lettuce will most likely die without some type of light in the back.

Some type of ceramic biomedia would be nice, but not required if you have a good amount of rock in the display.

I was also suckered into adding chemipure, phosban, and other chemicals. Take that money and invest in some Salifert test kits and maybe a larger return pump down the line. Allow your tank to mature before you start messing with the nutrients.

• Like 5
1 hour ago, Murphych said:

I'll listen in here too. Just got an Evo for my daughter this Christmas.. and my ol' mucker @afcajax73 gave me the InTank chamber 1 and 2 to go with it. 

Hope it goes well mate, I’m looking forward to the results! No doubt more bright white sand to be jealous of 

• Wow 1
12 minutes ago, afcajax73 said:

Hope it goes well mate, I’m looking forward to the results! No doubt more bright white sand to be jealous of 

😱 Hold on! I thought you lost your login details for a minute there.! 

• Haha 2

I’ve been running floss/purigen/biomax in chamber 1 and more bio media in chamber 2. Just bailed the purigen as I can’t get my phos above 0…so hoping that removing it will help.

new tank I don’t think I needed the chemical filtration.