Top Shelf Aquatics

The Retreat 2.5

greenerdayz

Hello everyone! I have been a lurker here since probably 2014 and finally decided to go out on whim and just start the damn thing (it also helps that I am now a senior in undergrad so have a little more stability hahaha). I unintentionally brought home a tiny anemone (Diadumene lineata) when I grabbed an oyster shell with Ulva on it at the beach the other day to put in a jar for my desk, and it sparked my return to this lovely site over the past month. So- I ran to petsmart to scoop up a Top Fin Retreat 2.5 and that is all I have so far! I am still determining lighting (I am thinking Kessil A80 but not sure how you all feel about that), and intend to keep mostly softies, LPS, Macros, etc- but definitely want to try some SPS along the way.  Any lighting input for such a small tank is highly appreciated and I can't wait to get it wet!

Display: Top Fin Retreat 2.5g 8"x9.6"x9.2"
Rock: Cured rock from LFS
Sand: Nature's Ocean Aragonite Reef Sand
Lighting: AI Prime HD
Return Pump: NEWA Mini MN606
Heating: Archaea Mini Heater 50w
Filtration: A little filter floss covering the inflow
I use distilled water and IO salt, and keep heat around 80 F

FTS 10/19/21 (dirty glass oops)

56324466-1C15-43BB-AC7D-CE4FD53BBB68.jpeg

FTS 10/17/21

Sand and water added

99BC197C-EF14-48E1-B388-5693BCB96347.jpeg

• Like 5
The Rainy Day Aquarium

I love Kessil's A80, but would personally go with something a little stronger if you want to keep SPS later on. Depending on your budget, maybe like an AI Prime or something in that range? Idk, I would always rather have a more powerful light so that when I do add SPS or even more demanding LPS corals I don't have to reinvest in another light to support them, but that's just me. That said there is nothing wrong with upgrading your light (or other equipment) later on if you decide you want to try more light demanding corals. 🙂

• Like 2