Coral Vue Hydros

Fish disappearing with seemingly no symptoms

barkingwithdogs

barkingwithdogs

My first post on this forum and I'm disappointed it's for such a negative reason.

Summary: 4 month old tank. kH swing, no other parameter issues. 4 dead fish. 1 surviving one has signs of bacterial infection or ich. No symptoms on other fish. All corals are fine. 

I am running a 90 litre reef tank. It's the aquamanta nano 60. It's been going very well. My first marine tank in several years, but not a total novice to it. I gradually added fish to it, but did rush things with corals I'll admit. 

Started using a dosing pump to maintain kH, and that was fine, but not dosing quite enough. So I upped it but made a mistake and had kH jump from about 6.2 to 10.6 over the course of about a week, maybe less. I lost my acros, which was not a surprise. They were only small frags that I had been given to experiment with. They'd actually grown well surprisingly. 

My montipora is being eaten by nudibranch. Which I am dealing with and slowly winning that fight. 

Corals in the tank are montis, an acro, cataphyllia, lobo, candy cane and some zoas. So sps and lps mix mostly. 

About a week prior to the kH swing. I added an Orchid dottyback. I actually regretted this straight away, because it was larger than I anticipated. It hid away, and was not aggressive and eventually started to show its face more. It was a nice addition after all. After about 2 weeks in the tank, I found it dead under my acans, being chewed upon by a hermit crab. These things happen. But then my possum wrasse disappears a few days after this. He was very confident and now I haven't seen him for a week, presumed dead. Then my pipefish died.