Innovative Marine Aquariums

Brand new hobbiest checking out the Fluval 13.5

Nova Scotian

Nova Scotian

Hello, all. Years ago, I spent countless hours researching for a nano reef, but I didn’t have the funds yet for such a hobby. Now, I am able to divert some money to a reef. I don’t want more than 15 gallons, and I am not good at cutting, fitting, etc. to make diy improvements.

I think I would like to get the Fluval EVO 13.5…. It seems to be the AIO that I’m seeing the least problems with on the forum (other than very expensive setups). I’m wondering what upgrades people suggest, because a bare 10 gallon and a diy refugium/sump might be better cost-wise. 

I’m pretty sure some actinics are a really good addition, so I will look up what others have done to add theirs. Other than that, I’m not sure what most people find they don’t like about the Fluval 13.5. Any recommendations would be gladly received! Things have changed around here since I last came, so I have to try to brush up on the information. For example, we don’t need as much rock as we used to.

Thanks,

Melissa

• Like 1
M. Tournesol

Welcome to nano-reef 😉

20 hours ago, Nova Scotian said:

because a bare 10 gallon and a diy refugium/sump might be better cost-wise. 

😬 you should not forget the cost of the glass diamond drill, plumbing, overflow box, and so on without forgetting the time investment.

For inspiration and information, the June 2021 featured aquarium is a Fluval EVO 13.5:

Bigals-nano-1