SaltCritters.com

New to Saltwater - seeking constructive criticism

InAtTheDeepEnd

InAtTheDeepEnd

Hi, currently in the process of setting up a 5.5 US gal tank I got for free from FB marketplace. I'm new to full saltwater keeping but not new to aquarium keeping generally; I decided to go with a saltwater tank for this one as I have a brackish paludarium waiting for me to source livestock for it, so lots of 'salty' equipment already lying around doing nothing. As I'm new to this I'd appreciate a critique on my plan for the set up. 

Size: 5.5G

Specific gravity: 1.025 

Temp: 26*C 

Planned stocking: mexican turbo snail, nasarrius snail, 2x Colin's fairygobies and either a featherduster OR a shrimp (probably not both) and Green star polyps and zoas - but I'm planning on adding all livestock very very slowly

Probably also some macroalgae for water quality management

25% water changes twice a week 

I've already got it set up with lights (one 6300K white and a dark blue, both LED), pump, sand, and 3kg of mature liverock from an established set up. The guy who gave me the rock also said he's happy to help mentor me if I want. 

So far my biggest issue is pH - it's stubbornly sat at 7.8 and will NOT go any higher. This is despite a hugely high kH of 19. (This is with my tapwater, which comes out of the tap very very high already) but I'm going to be investing in an RO system at some point in the very near future.

I wanted a pH of about 8.2, but am also not a fan of 'chasing' pH as it oftentimes seems to generate more issues than it solves. Will this pH be a problem? 

Oh and I should say I'm currently using API to test my water but am probably going to swap to salifert as I've had some quality issues with API for both my salt and freshwater test kits recently which is making my doubt their reliability....

Any other constructive criticism would be appreciated (but be nice lol).