Top Shelf Aquatics

Monthly expenses of a reef tank

OliverCc

Hi everyone, 

I’m a total beginner and wanted to try a new hobby. But I have no idea what are the monthly maintenance costs for a 34 gallon (130l) tank. I would have around 5 fish in it with some corals. Of course I would pick the ones that can live together.

I would like to buy the red sea reefer 170 deluxe: https://www.bulkreefsupply.com/deluxe-reefer-170-complete-system-34-gal-red-sea.html

Could someone experienced tell me what costs the keeping of such a tank? 

Thank you very muchspacer.png

NoOneLikesADryTang

First, and foremost, welcome OliverCc! 

This is a really subjective topic - and I'm sure you'll get many varying answers. 

I would say at am minimum you'd want to budget $50/month for a tank that size, to cover you added electricity, water changes and any other little incidental things you'll want/need along the way(food/test kits/dosing/etc). 

I've got a 50g tank and I've spent the time actually calculating it out to get an idea:

Electricity: $8-10/mo (my tank uses about 108 KW/h/mo in the summer and about 120KW/h/mo in the winter in NC)

Salt Mix: $3.50/mo in salt - 2x 5g water changes per month

RODI: $3.15/mo - I change Carbon/Sediment every 6 months and DI every 12 months. I make about 30g a month in RODI with 90g of waste, so the water cost is negligible at around $0.20/mo.

Equipment Replacement: $10/mo - changing dosing heads, replacing powerhead/return pump every 5 years or so. Light every 10 (though, my last return pump lasted 11 years and my light is almost 10 and still going strong - this is probably actually a bit lower).

Food/Test Reagents: $2/mo

That's about it - my total is generally between $28-30/mo.

Edit: I didn't factor in my dosing since I used kalk for the better part of the last 10 years, which is only about $0.25/mo, but now I'm using 2-part and it's about $3.50-4.65/mo depending on which alk I use. Either way, under $35/mo!

• Like 4

Each tank is different.