SaltCritters.com

Strange Behavior from my Royal Gramma

cottoncandy

I am extremely new to this hobby, and have only had a tank for 3 weeks with fish for 1 week.  However, I’m pretty sure my Royal Gramma’s behavior isn’t normal.  

It keeps flashing against the sand, which I think means it’s scratching itself, but it’s tearing it’s fins by doing so.  It’s also been staying in a cave the whole time, but now it’s moved to the corner of the tank in full view and just lays there sideways.  My family says I’m crazy, but I swear there’s white mucous-looking gunk wrapping around the bottom of its head and near its gills, as well as a white spot on its tail fin, but very faint.  I’ve read that that’s not a good sign, but I don’t know what it is a sign of.  Should I be worried?  What does this mean?

I have a 20g with an Emerald Crab, a Lawnmower Blenny, and the Gramma.  The Blenny was just introduced today. 

I can’t get any good pics because it won’t move, but I guess it’s better than nothing.

8130BF91-EEE0-46D3-817C-25C7E906FAD7.jpeg

BD80F597-5E81-43A8-AC3E-118278167EA4.jpeg

i'm jealous. i'd like to have a lawnmower blenny but they need a large and old tank with lots of algae in it to survive. had one once before, back when i had a 30 gallon tank. they're cool, weird fish.

1 hour ago, rough eye said:

i'm jealous. i'd like to have a lawnmower blenny but they need a large and old tank with lots of algae in it to survive. had one once before, back when i had a 30 gallon tank. they're cool, weird fish.

Yes, it has quite the strong personality.  Bringing him home, I set the bag on the seat beside me, but had to hold it because it tipped the bag over three times.  It swam around the bottom eating algae for hours after being added to the tank, and now he’s sitting one of my Royal Gramma’s old caves.

That flashing behavior is a strong indication of a parasitic infestation.  The most common cause is the parasite Cryptocaryon Irritans.