ReefCleaners.org

Don't do what I just did....

Clown79

At 3:15am I was inspecting my tank via flashlight and doing an ammonia test because

I forgot to plug my pump in after feeding! 

I mean HOURS of no circulation in the tank. Close to 6 hrs. 

I can't believe I did that. I've never done that before.

Shock, worry...feeling bad.

Everything looks ok. Fish is still alive, rfa's seem to be fine, all else appears normal besides the temp dropping to 74.

No ammonia.

Now to try to sleep while I sit and worry. 

Hoping I lose nothing, plan a waterchange to be safe

Note to self...set a timer!

• Like 5
4 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

At 3:15am I was inspecting my tank via flashlight and doing an ammonia test because

Everything looks ok. Fish is still alive, rfa's seem to be fine, all else appears normal besides the temp dropping to 74.

No ammonia.

I made this same mistake twice with my 10G. I forgot to turn the pumps back on and in the second instance, there was zero circulation for 24 hours. Both my fish survived and everything was fine. I think older tanks are more resilient than we give them credit for. 

Don't worry. Everything should be fine. 😊

• Like 6
2 minutes ago, Snow_Phoenix said:

I made this same mistake twice with my 10G. I forgot to turn the pumps back on and in the second instance, there was zero circulation for 24 hours. Both my fish survived and everything was fine. I think older tanks are more resilient than we give them credit for. 

Don't worry. Everything should be fine. 😊

Thank you so much. It makes me feel better knowing I am not the only 1 who's done this as well as knowing there is a good chance of survival.

I'll tell you, that moment I realized the pump had been off...😮😔🤪

• Like 4
1 hour ago, Clown79 said:

Thank you so much. It makes me feel better knowing I am not the only 1 who's done this as well as knowing there is a good chance of survival.