Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Rehabilitating a Nano Cube 32

OscarB

Hi Nano-Reef Forum,

I recently got a Nano Cube 32 that was neglected.  It doesn't look too bad, I'm sure it could be worse.  It has 3 live rocks, some crabs and snails, and a clown.  The previous owner wanted a hobby, but didn't  do any maintenance and lost interest.  It's about a year old, and has had maybe 2 water changes since new.  The filter is saturated with brown goo.  The protein skimmer is full of what looks like root beer. He has been adding filtered water from the fridge for evaporation.  

So now I have it, and I am also a beginner.  I've been looking at forums for about a year and wanting to get into reef tanks.  I know a little, and have a lot to learn.  I checked the ammonia level, which reads "ideal".  

I plan on going to a store tonight to get more testing supplies, and filter media.  It has an in tank upgraded media basket.  I plan on filling the bottom with live rock rubble.  I don't know what to put in the middle.  I see a lot of people leaving the middle empty.  

Other than a good cleaning, I am open to any suggestions for rehabilitating this tank.  I don't want to shock the system and kill everything, but the sand in the bottom looks awful. Is there a way to switch this out for something more coarse? It's super fine, and clouds up whenever anything touches it.  Also, if I do change out the sand for something else, what do you guys usually do with the snails and crabs while maintaining the tank?

Any helpful advice is appreciated.  

Thanks

Christopher Marks

Welcome to the community @OscarB!

How long has the tank settled into its new location? Any photos you can share?