Cultivated Reef

Hi!

Due to a nasty hair algae and bubble algae problems I've been battling for over 2 years I decided to take the plunge and start all over again with new cycled rocks. I've been cycling these new dry rocks on a bucket for 2 moths. 

Anyway, during the transition time, I'm planning on transfering all my corals to a quarantine tank and peroxide diping them on a 3:1 saltwater to peroxide 6% solution in order to avoid the algae contamination to the new system. 

The question is: Is it safe to peroxide dip a crocea clam on a diluted solution? How much diluted is safe? There is some algae on the rubble its attached and on clam shell. I'm afraid that only spot treating the shell will not avoid contamination.

Thank you!

we have collected tons of clam treatments in peroxide threads and my opinion is that the dilution weak enough not to kill or stress the clam is too weak to get the algae cure you want

also, its impossible not to reimport it although I 100% value your exclusion approach id do the same. What you do when it gets in the new tank is what matters foremost, and that's take action vs any kind of waiting if I could insert unasked for algae opinion lol.

when algae grows again, take out the rock and use a steak knife to score out the algae like a dentist uses a plaque tool. rough. make it bleed a bit, make the algae gone via rasping and rinse it all off outside tank.

then apply peroxide only to the clean spots just  the same, that's how you amplify an algae treatment to actually have a chance of working. if you solely dip these corals the growback work is certain, although def less bc the initial mass has been strained.

Do surgery on the clam