Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Bright Blue Maxima In the Tank!

20,000geeksUNDERtheSEA

20,000geeksUNDERtheSEA

Just got my 5" maxima in today. Acclimated her for about 2.5 hours, until parameters in the bag and tank were similar.

She opened right up, and seems to be very reactive to the shadow test. This is my first clam and I haven't had to much experience with them.

I included some pictures incase anything looks out of sorts to anyone. Please let me know if anything looks out of the ordinary.

post-49795-1296079790_thumb.jpg

post-49795-1296079802_thumb.jpg

looks great im no pro with clams though but great color where did you get it? i only have one maxima for like 3 weeks. just check for snails at night.

20,000geeksUNDERtheSEA

I'm a little worried about it. Its been doing fine all day and I just left for about an hour, when I came back it was closed up, with just a little of the mantel showing, and there are tiny bubbles in some spots on the outside of the clam. Its making me a little nervous, I burped it the best I could.

It did happen to close around dusk time, and I'm hoping that the fact that it was kept in a green house under natural sun light is the reason.

Also, I'm not seeing a foot or anything, just a hard white thing on the back, is that the foot?

best bet is to leave it be how long has it been in the tank?

when you got it did you look under the clam? as long as theres no hole under the clam your prob good. lol when i got mine i thought it had pm and freaked out and dipped it. it prob didnt even have it and stressed it out more. point is let it be. the fact that you knew to burp it shows that you read your stuff but reading also leads to worry. and i get that cause clams are alot of $.

20,000geeksUNDERtheSEA

First off, my apologies to the forum for double posting, it was a mistake.