Coral Vue Hydros

Clam doctor

poidog

ok, what is up with my clam. Had it for about 1-1/2 weeks. The first couple of days it was fully extended, no it won't open up any more than in the pic. parameters are in check except nitrates have been hovering around 5-10ppm lately (nitrates were present when clam was introduced as well).

post-41150-1246320822_thumb.jpg

Disclaimer...... I'm not a doctor, but a few days ago a fellow N-R member, skh, posted a link to a great article about mysterious clam deaths. I know yours isn't dead, but maybe by reading this article, you can get some ideas as to what may be wrong with yours.

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2009/3/aafeature1

By your pic, it looks like your clam is placed about mid-way on the rocks in your tank? If so, did you acclimate it to the lights? Most suggest putting it on the bottom for a few days and then slowly move it up. Also, do you have anything that could be picking at it, especially after the lights go off? You can confirm this by taking an empty soft drink bottle and cut several holes in it for circulation. Cut off the bottom of it and place the bottle over the clam, see if it extands its' mantle like it should.

Also, make sure you stay on top of the Calcium, they do suck it up like a vacuum!

BTW, is this the one you just got from LA? It's a real beauty!

Good Luck and keep us posted!

Yep, this is the one that I got from liveaquaria. I had it in the sand for a about 5/6 days when it was fully open (2 of those 5 days). It dropped the rubble that it was clinging to when it was shipped, and started to grab the rock rubble i left on the sand, but after a day after that it let go and started falling down and not opening, so I figured it wasn't happy and moved it up the rockwork (yep, it's about 1/2 way up directly under the bulb). Now, it's no longer falling down, but don't extending all the way.