Coral Vue Hydros

I know this is a dumb question...

Jacobnano

Hey everyone I just wondered if anyone was able to keep any clams while they were small in a 3 gallon pico. Lets say I have a 36w power compact light above the clam and he is small, could he live in my tank? Ya I just wanted to know if that was possible I assume that would be enough light for a lower light clam, but they may also out grow my tank quickly. I just want to know what species if any could be kept in a small tank. Also would they be able to squirt the lights when the close up???

I am only a beginner to clams but ya I figured. If there could be a more elaborated "no" or "yes" that would be appreciated :)

lakshwadeep

Picos are less stable than larger tanks in terms of salinity and temperature. Clams need stability, and it is better if you learn how to keep them healthy in a larger tank. People like tinyreef can keep clams because their experience.

Thanks for the info, although my water parameters are very steady because I have an auto top off and do nightly water changes. I have an air conditioner and a heater in the tank so temp. shouldn't be a problem lol. But any other info would be appreciated I am like I said a noob with clams themselves :)

Well what do you want to know exactly? 36 watts of pc lights? Nah I wouldn't do it . Maybe one of evils pico led fixtures ! Or a viper halide. I just hung a 16.5 sunpod over my tank and dose everyday. I have kept my crocea for over 5 months in my 3 gallon jbj pico ! :D Stability is the key as laks stated. I know from experience ! If you can commit to the up keep then go for it ! Gl ! Keep us posted

Dang, the lights are what I was mainly worried about. I was hoping that since the clam will be sooo close to them it might be possible with a low light clam...