SaltCritters.com

Couevas' 20G Tall Mixed Reef

couevas

FTS as of October 22, 2011

fw0zrd.jpg

(30% Royal Blue, 15% Cool White)

--------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I am back in the game.....I have a 2 year old daughter and her absolute favorite movie is Finding Nemo (She watches it every single day....sometimes twice a day). Excellent!! Now I have an excuse to get back into reefing. I am just providing for my daughter....right?

A little history:

I have been reefing since about 2002 (man, I was dumb back then) and got out in 2007 with a move from San Diego to Las Vegas. My tank progression went like this:

1. 90 gal custom shallow acrylic (hand-me-down; joint venture with college roomate - we had no idea what we were doing)

2. 72 gal Oceanic Bowfront - 40 gal sump (joint venture with college roomate - we had no idea what we were doing)

3. 24 gal JBJ Nanocube (on my own after graduation)

4. 72 gal Oceanic Bowfront - (bought equipment from former roomate)

Today. 20 gal Tall AGA

----------------------------------------

Unlike all my other aquatic adventures (read that I needed something, figured out a way to integrate or fab my own equivalent), I am starting this guy off fairly well from the beginning. So far, I have the tank running with the following equipment and additions....

Eshopps PSK-75H Hang-on skimmer

AC70 filter modded into small refugium

Marineland Stealth Pro 100W heater

Hydor Koralia 1 powerhead

Aquaticlife 24 inch 4x24W T5HO + Lunar Led fixture

20 lbs Caribsea Live Oolite sand

22 lbs Tongan Live Rock (PRIME 2 month cured from A Red Sea Aquarium in Seattle!)

Sand has been in water for about a week now with all equipment running except lights. Rock and light added last night. I am not expecting a long cycle at all....then the stocking can begin!

I will post some pics tonight when I get home from work......

-Chris