ReefCleaners.org

Fluval spec 2 (est.8-19-13) video on pg. 4!

jjaro

Hello! my name is Jjaro im new to this site, and ive spent the last few days looking for the perfect site and i believe this is it! so i hope im welcome lol.

Anyway ive had expeirience with saltwater tanks prior to this pico tank, BUT i am no expert, an expert is what im striving to be, but i love to learn, and love a good challenge!!!. currently my brother and I have an 8 gallon biocube currently set up with a red scooter blenny, and a green clown goby, and just now put a small piece of zoa in it.

Recently i was out and about and have been seeing this fluval 2 gallon that is almost set up like out biocube 3 stage filtration (carbon, biomax insert, and foam block). so i purchased this over the weekend, and am about to tear down our 8 gallon and set up our old 29 gallon biocube. im going to be using the water from the 8 gallon so hopefully i dont have to wait for a cycle as long, i have live sand ready to go, and live rock.

I set the fluval up to see how it works yesterday, and I noticed on the back wall there is a small incision near the bottom of the filter wall (vents at the top for water to flow in, and a small hole near the bottom that lets water in as well) which will keep the water level just a little lower in the filteration area becuase of the pump. since this is how it works, its not wet dry like our biocube is. so i plugged that bottom hole and now it flows entirely different, and it will allow the water to trickle over the biomax inserts so its wet dry to allow bacteria growth similar to the biocube. Im also going to replace the biomax insert with actual bio balls from the 8 gallon, so everything is almost how it should be a month from now (or atleast thats what im hoping ha..)