Top Shelf Aquatics

Deep-water nano

skylsdale

(This might actually belong in the Advanced Forum...I didn't see there was one until after I posted.)

I am currently piecing together my setup and thought I would share what I'm planning, and also ask your opinions regarding my plans for flow. I've been researching such a setup for quite a few months now, and had planned a much larger setup, but figured I would try it out on a smaller scale to see how things go.

The main tank is a 20H. Lighting consists of two NO bulbs: 20W actinic and 15W 20K. This helps give the affect of a location a little further down the reef slope. I'm looking into some deep-water LR that is packed full of life, which will give me plenty of little organisms that I want. I'll have around 20 lbs. of this in the main tank, and use some base rock to fill in any gaps. Aquascaping will consist of a slope coming down one side, forming a valley in the middle, and then ascending up the next side. There will hopefully be an overhang in there somewhere. The LR will extend out of the water and beyond the field of view, giving the impression that the slope continues upward, rather than peaking just beneath the surface. There will be about an inch or two of Pure Caribbean Aragonite as substrate. The fish will be a pair or trio of Fathead anthias. Other livestock will be a blood/fire shrimp. I'm not going with the traditional low light corals that you usually see, like mushrooms. My goal is to pack the tank full of life that dominates the reef slope, such as sponges, tunicates, bivalves, etc. I want the tank crawling with these organisms. Any corals that I put in the tank will be researched carefully, and I may try something like Nemenzophyllia, Lobophyllia, or Scolymia. I would prefer more of a monospecific stand of something rather than 15 different species packed into the tank, but we'll see how things progress.