ReefCleaners.org

Tank Size for Beginner?

damikester

Hello All!

I've got several years experience keeping freshwater successfully and have recently become interested in trying out a small reef setup.

I've got a 29 gallon tank sitting around doing nothing, but what I'd really like to try out is a 12 gallon nano cube deluxe. Not to mention, that the nano cube is pretty much self contained as far as the equipment goes. And, it'd be somewhat less costly to setup.

I'd like your opinions on the my chances of being successful with the nano cube given my freshwater experience? I don't plan to attempt to keep anything in it that requires a whole lot of light. Some LR, LS, Softies, some type of small Shrimp, and a clean up crew.

Also, how much time can I expect to spend with maintenance?

If you think I'd be better off going with the 29 gallon as a first reef, I'd appreciate some advice about lighting it and how much time I can expect the maintenance with it will take.

TIA

Mike

Well, the Nano Cube DX is a great candidate for a begginer IMO. just be sure to take out all the bio-balls and spunges from the back compartments, they lead to nitrate factories...Just put some LR rubble in the back, and that should be alright.

Asfor maintenance...well, you get what you put into it! I'd say some where between 15-20 minutes a day. Also, on certain days of the week when you do water changes be prepared for a bout 30 minutes worth.

GL

HTH