Cultivated Reef

Jason's reef bowl

Bluelobstor

Bluelobstor

Good evening everyone, This is my first time starting a journal and want to track the progress. I have been inspired by @natalia_la_loca to start a reef bowl after reading through her journal and seeing all the beautiful pictures. A little background info about me, I have kept fish and coral before but have been out of it for a few years now and never had a reef bowl. 

I was looking at different bowls available and have been trying to decide which night be best. Amazon a several to choose from and I have looked at Michael's craft store and am leaning towards one from there. I have 3 options taken from their sight are the dimensions below,

"8"  bowl is 8" diameter x 6.4" tall , with 6"  diameter opening

10"  bowl is 10" diameter x 8.25" tall , with 6.87"  diameter opening

12"  bowl is 12" diameter x 9.5" tall , with 9.125"  diameter opening"

Any help or input would be appreciated and I also have to take into consideration the lid that I have to purchase separately. 

I have several air pumps I can use and I recently purchased the heater below from Amazon, hopefully it will work. If anyone thinks there is a better alternative let me know. I also have aged salt mix, does it go bad if it mixes? I also have some rocks from previous setups I can use.

I think that is all that is needed besides some sand and I can work on getting it setup.

Thanks in advance for and input, advice, or tips.

Jason

I'm updating this to show the equipment I'm using in one spot.

Bowl is from hobby lobby and is 12" diameter with a very wide opening and lid is just a casserole lid with flexible tubing that is super glued to it around the edge that just rests on top of the bowl. I'm looking to change lid setup to something else

Filtration is live rock (dry from a previous tank I had) and Arag alive Bihimi pink live sand.