Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Cycle Help

Stamen

Hello everyone,
I am new to marine aquarism and unfortunately have made quite a few mistakes in driving my nitrogen cycle. So if you'll allow me to explain what happened:
1. The tank is 150 gallons including the sump.
2. I added Caribsea Life Rock, ati fiji white sand and Black Sea stones, washed and disinfected several times.
3. Nitrifying bacteria DrTim's - ONE and ONLY
4. Ammonia for them - Waterlife SeAquariums BioMature 100ml - and here I was probably wrong the first time. The bottle is for 800 gallons, and I poured the entire amount in one week.
5. Salifert tests for Ammonia, Nitrate and Nitrite. Testing every day.
6. 2 times water change of 30% each.
Today is day 32 and the readings are as follows:
NH3 --- 0.15
NO3 >100
NO2 --- 4.0
Please advise, can I add fish, corals or at least CHAETOMORPHA SP ?
Thank you in advance !!!

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-32-903.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-33-266.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-33-619.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-33-834.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-33-930.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-34-171.jpg

viber_image_2023-07-04_08-21-34-386.jpg

• Like 1
6 hours ago, Stamen said:

NH3 --- 0.15
NO3 >100
NO2 --- 4.0

Free ammonia is still high for fish; ideally it should be 0.02ppm or less.  It should come down soon.

Nitrate is high due to the overdose of ammonia.  A large water change will reduce it by the amount changed (so a 50% water change should reduce it in half).

Nitrite is also high, but we normally don't worry about nitrite very much in a marine aquarium.

A large water change (with nitrate-free water) will reduce nitrate, ammonia, and nitrite.  I'd do that water change, if for no other reason, to reduce nitrate.  Ideally, nitrate should be less than 20ppm.

6 hours ago, Stamen said:

can I add fish, corals or at least CHAETOMORPHA SP ?