Pod Your Reef

Fluval 13.5 Stocking

_cpate3_

Hi, I am new to reefing as a whole but have done months of research leading up to this point where I buy my first tank!

I got a great deal on facebook marketplace and my specs are:
Fluval evo 13.5 tank
AI Prime 16hd
Upgraded Return Pump
50W heater
Aqamai KPS powerhead
ATO system
Media basket

My dream stocking list is:
2 mochavinci clownfish
sofites and LPS
POSSIBLY shrimp/goby pair
skunk cleaner shrimp
and CUC

I know there is a lot of disagreement as to whether or not a clown pair will be ok in a 13.5 gallon tank. I am planning on having the tank for 5 years before I can upgrade so I am wondering if it is possible to keep 2 clowns that long in a tank that small. Or if it would be better to do 1 clown and another fish like a basslet.

Please be kind as this is my first time posting and I look forward to hearing any tips and feedback!

5 hours ago, _cpate3_ said:

Hi, I am new to reefing as a whole but have done months of research leading up to this point where I buy my first tank!

Fluval evo 13.5 tank
AI Prime 16hd
Upgraded Return Pump
50W heater
Aqamai KPS powerhead
ATO system
Media basket

2 mochavinci clownfish
sofites and LPS
skunk cleaner shrimp
and CUC

I know there is a lot of disagreement as to whether or not a clown pair will be ok in a 13.5 gallon tank. I am planning on having the tank for 5 years before I can upgrade so I am wondering if it is possible to keep 2 clowns that long in a tank that small. Or if it would be better to do 1 clown and another fish like a basslet.

Please be kind as this is my first time posting and I look forward to hearing any tips and feedback!

Looks real good, tbh.

You are right, the Clowns will start to look really cramped, but if you get them young, they will be perfectly happy for a while. People will disagree on if it's enough. Who knows, maybe in 2 years you will change your mind an upgrade early! This hobby is wild like that.