ReefCleaners.org

Mission: Chilean Nano Tank

Walter

Hey everyone!

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Walter R. Im a 21 years old student from Chile, South America, and "this" is my problem:

After looking at all those great pictures of nanos and huge tanks, Ive decided to make a tank, but soon I started to look for materials in my country to start it, I got some problems:

1) The smallest amount of rock I can buy in my country is 45lbs, and as you all might know, 45lbs in a 10 gal its like a 400lbs guy using leather pants ;). That means that I got to spend 336 dollars for Premiun Fiji Live Rock, and belive me, I dont have that much money.

2)Each coral (the cheapest one) cost 80 bucks

3)Each false percs cost the same as the corals

4)Lights are easy to get, just like the powerhead.

Now, lets think about the expenses:

336 dollars in LR

80 dollars 1 perc

400 dollars in cheap corals

100 in PC

100 in misc. expenses

1016 dollars in a 10 gal, 5 corals and 1 perc tank..

Dont you guys think is too much? I do belive its way over anyones average expenses in a nano.

The thing is that I STILL wanna do that nano, but for that Ill need as much steps and information to start it in a right way. For ex. how can I make live rock? etc.

I would really appreciate that info so I can make the first colaborated-chilean-nano ;)

Again, thanks a lot

bye

W. (seis66) :D

Of course I would love to move over there and buy, but that means that I gotta pay taxes for all the lr, corals and fishes... and that would sum something like 1500 easy

I still be waiting for all the ideas.

We dont have reefs here, nanoreefer53

Thanks chris ;)

W.

exchange the money for patience. setup the tank with dry sand and dry rock. cycle the system with a damsel or whatever's cheap. then get a soft coral and let it multiply.