Pod Your Reef

Dosing in Nano?

emmysnewtank

Hi All...Noob here. Several month old Evo13 with 2 clowns, cleaner shrimp, CUC and some Softie and LPS seemingly thriving (don't want to jinx anything). Water params stable...NO2 at 5ppm and Phos at 0. 

Question for everyone is the need to add additional elements outside of minor weekly water changes. Do I need calc, alk, mag etc supplements? Do I even need to be testing for these?

Just reading about all the dosing, but it usually seems like those are larger SPS reefs.

Undetectable phosphate can be a problem (it should be at least 0.03 ppm, with 0.05 being better).

With LPS, I'd monitor alkalinity.  Don't bother testing calcium or magnesium until you have to start dosing alkalinity.  Once maintenance water changes no longer maintain your tank's alkalinity level, it might be time to start dosing.

If/when dosing, target the levels of a newly mixed batch of saltwater.  For a small tank with a few stony corals, ESV B-Ionic works pretty well.

• Like 2
7 minutes ago, seabass said:

Undetectable phosphate can be a problem (it should be at least 0.03 ppm, with 0.05 being better).

This.  Pay attention to Nitrate / Phos early.  If you let it ride non-detectable for too long, it'll give you headaches.  I'm dealing with DINO right now b/c of it.  

I started my 10 gal last January and have just started this week dosing Phos in my 10 gallon.  I wasn't testing anything and thought my tank was doing fine ... until it wasn't

• Like 2

The only way to know if you need to dose something is to first measure it. When you have a good amount of hard coral (LPS/SPS) in the tank, invest in alkalinity, calcium and magnesium test kits at the very least. These parameters, especially alkalinity, will fall over time if not supplemented. 

• Like 2
1 hour ago, Jakesaw said:

This.  Pay attention to Nitrate / Phos early.  If you let it ride non-detectable for too long, it'll give you headaches.  I'm dealing with DINO right now b/c of it.