Pod Your Reef

Phyto bottle- smells okay, looks okay. Is it okay?

Tired

I got a small bottle of phytoplankton as a freebie in an order of supplies, and promptly forgot about it for about a month. It was in the dark and unrefrigerated the whole time. A couple days ago, I found it, opened it for a minute, closed it, and set it in very indirect sunlight. It's the normal green color of phyto, just settled, and it doesn't have any smell except a very slight tinge of sweetness. I know the nutritional value isn't exactly going to be stellar after sitting for a month, but is this safe to dose, and would it provide any benefit? I'm trying to feed copepods, with a side dish of tiny feather dusters. 

(Also, do feather dusters eat copepods? I'm reading online that they like phyto, and that larger particles are usually just used to make the tube, but it doesn't say if they can catch copepods at all.)

I'm new to phyto as well.  Read online that it last up to a month in the fridge as long as it smells ok.  Turn over the bottle a few times before dosing as well.  Keep things from settling to bottom - I don't remember why this was important. 

Mine is 3 weeks old and still smelling fresh so I'm continuing to use. 

I dont beleive dusters eat pods the particle size they capture and ingest is quite small they have no sting or real mucous coating to trap pods with either. I mine are noted to consume the same food that I give my clams and gorgs.

Live phyto?  If it is(was?) live and smells ok, it's probably fine.  Higher temperatures and light can be bad for storage because it runs out of nutrients by growing, but in the dark it may just have been dormant and settled, which is better for longevity than otherwise.