ReefCleaners.org

Complete beginner looking for recommendations for a 5gal picotank

ChickenJo

Hello everyone! I'm a college student (so that presents some challenges) and I've been interested in marine aquariums for a very long time, and am thinking about taking the plunge! I've been reading everything I could find, including El Fab's wonderful guide to pico tanks, and I'm still a bit lost. I'd like to do this as responsibly as possible.

So I'm looking at doing an ~5gal pico reef only (maybe some inverts in a while, maybe a goby in a longer while) tank, however I am currently on a college budget and a bit confused about what exactly I need, and which specific things I should go with to keep costs down. I believe this is what I need, but if I can trim it a bit that would be nice. Please tell me what I'm missing as well and what I'm wrong about!

• Heater
    • [Need assistance/recommendation]
  • Thermometer
  • Refractometer
  • Reliable test kit
  • Automatic timer
  • Maintenance supplies and tools (I've got these already)
    • 2 ½ quart Mixing Containers
    • 5-Gallon Mixing Bucket
    • Turkey Baster
    • Aquatic Forceps
    • Airline Tubing
    • Magnet Glass Cleaner
  • Tank
  • light
  • filter
  • Saltwater
  • 5 lb Live rock
  • Live sand
    • Probably gonna grab some Arag-Alive! Reef Sand - CaribSea
  • Heater
  • Powerhead
  • Aquaclear refugium
    • that extra volume sounds nice
  • Skimmer
    • I know it's useful but not necessary, what am I looking at on the low end of prices on this one and how useful is it?
  • ATO
  • Coral
    • as hardy and easy as possible, so like Zoas and mushrooms right?
3 hours ago, ChickenJo said: