Innovative Marine Aquariums

QT Copper and Waterchanges

A.m.P

So, I'm a bit new to using copper and really could use a bit more information about waterchange procedures.
I've read it's obviously best-practice to pre-treat water with copper before a waterchange, however the logistics of that would be difficult-to-impossible with my current space, means, and setups.

The two QT systems are about 3 gallons each and have about 30x hourly turnover:
My current procedure is to, pump off - remove 50% water-, replace with NSW, pump on then re-dose Copper power into direct-flow -within the span of 3 minutes or so-.

Does this pose a significant risk towards a failed QT period?

Thanks for your time!

1 hour ago, Amphrites said:

So, I'm a bit new to using copper and really could use a bit more information about waterchange procedures.
I've read it's obviously best-practice to pre-treat water with copper before a waterchange, however the logistics of that would be difficult-to-impossible with my current space, means, and setups.

The two QT systems are about 3 gallons each and have about 30x hourly turnover:
My current procedure is to, pump off - remove 50% water-, replace with NSW, pump on then re-dose Copper power into direct-flow -within the span of 3 minutes or so-.

Does this pose a significant risk towards a failed QT period?

Thanks for your time!

Perhaps not a significant chance (probably very low depending on parasite load) but if a parasite attaches in that span then the QT was a waste. Copper only kills the free swimmers. Just buy a cheap bucket at home depot or such as your copper bucket (mark it). 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
11 minutes ago, Tamberav said:

Perhaps not a significant chance (probably very low depending on parasite load) but if a parasite attaches in that span then the QT was a waste. Copper only kills the free swimmers. Just buy a cheap bucket at home depot or such as your copper bucket (mark it).