ReefCleaners.org

Am I being paranoid or is my fish dying??

1255fish

Hey guys! I’m new to the fishing hobby and I set up my first salt water tank! I did a bunch of research and looked into all the chemistry behind keeping up a tank. I set up a bio cube 32 with the standard lighting. I added 20lbs or live sand and rock and filled up the tank with salt water with a salinity of 1.024. I have checked my pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, and nitrate throughout the 7 weeks that I let the tank cycle and added beneficial bacteria twice for 7 days tow separate times during the cycling. Yesterday when we checked the water parameters the pH was 8.2, Ammonia was near 0, nitrite 0, and nitrate was also low so we decided to add fish to the tank.

We acclimate the fish by floating them in the bags for about an hour before we add them to the tank. We got two clowns and a domino damsel. The damsel seems fine and is exploring the tank slowly as well as the larger clown fish but the smaller clown seems to be swimming a lot around the tank. It will circle the tank by the glass and go up and down the glass at times. He does occasionally stop in the middle of the tank and swim through the live rock. As far as I could tell he ate both yesterday and this morning. I read online that this means that they could be stressed so we turned the lights and waver-maker off but it only seemed to slow him down a little bit. 

His breathing seems fine but honestly I can’t really get a good look at him. Everyone else in the tank looks fine. I just really don’t want to kill him. I just really need some help I don’t know if I’m being paranoid or a bad fish handler! 

Yep your paranoid. 😂😊😎😋 Clownfish are crazy.  They do all kinds of funny stuff. This behavior is normal. Keep an eye on ammonia like you are doing and you will be fine.

Has the fish eaten yet? If it is that's a good sign. Although some fish can take a few days to start eating.

Welcome to NR! Happy reefing!

• Thanks 1