Cultivated Reef

Rhodactis Lavender Mushroom problem

LesPaulGtr

Hi All,

This past Thursday, I added my first corals: A Rhodactis Lavender Mushroom and Green Toadstool Mushroom Leather Coral.  The toadstool coral looks good to me, but on the Rhodactis, today I noticed a dark grey area in the front and a lighter grey area on the top that didn't seem like it was there yesterday.  The coral is also white with light pink/yellow accents.  It's supposed to be a deep purple and look like this: https://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=597+2856+872&pcatid=872

Any ideas?  I'm new to corals, but have had an established tank for over a year with stable parameters.  I drip acclimated the corals for over an hour and dipped them before adding.  I've also limited the amount of light they both get.

IMG_1414.thumb.JPG.7799773833b6e2255e145fdf7ad45dfc.JPGIMG_6855.thumb.JPG.fbe73d21ffa95e0dc72d4469b8d9e5f1.JPG

IMG_6289.thumb.JPG.efee672358cb8519637d5401f4bb8da2.JPG

Thank you in advance.

4 hours ago, LesPaulGtr said:

Hi All,

This past Thursday, I added my first corals: A Rhodactis Lavender Mushroom and Green Toadstool Mushroom Leather Coral.  The toadstool coral looks good to me, but on the Rhodactis, today I noticed a dark grey area in the front and a lighter grey area on the top that didn't seem like it was there yesterday.  The coral is also white with light pink/yellow accents.  It's supposed to be a deep purple and look like this: https://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=597+2856+872&pcatid=872

Any ideas?  I'm new to corals, but have had an established tank for over a year with stable parameters.  I drip acclimated the corals for over an hour and dipped them before adding.  I've also limited the amount of light they both get.

IMG_1414.thumb.JPG.7799773833b6e2255e145fdf7ad45dfc.JPGIMG_6855.thumb.JPG.fbe73d21ffa95e0dc72d4469b8d9e5f1.JPG

IMG_6289.thumb.JPG.efee672358cb8519637d5401f4bb8da2.JPG

Thank you in advance.