Pod Your Reef

Can't identify

mark.payton

Hello,

I'm new to saltwater and live in an area with limited help from my local fish store.  Can anyone help me identify what I have shown in the attached pictures?

Thank you!

IMG-1672.jpg

IMG-1670.jpg

IMG-1671.jpg

• Like 1
19 minutes ago, mark.payton said:

Hello,

I'm new to saltwater and live in an area with limited help from my local fish store.  Can anyone help me identify what I have shown in the attached pictures?

Thank you!

IMG-1672.jpg

IMG-1670.jpg

IMG-1671.jpg

:welcome:

First pic looks like majano anemone...... most consider it a pest. Would need a better pic to tell for sure. 

second is some type of paly or zoa

third looks like Anthelia maybe.....again, a better pic would help. 

Thank you for the reply.  Since it only appears that I have a couple  of the majano anemone on one small piece of rock can I just pull that out and be done with it?

Thanks again,

mark

• Like 1
NoOneLikesADryTang
19 minutes ago, mark.payton said:

Thank you for the reply.  Since it only appears that I have a couple  of the majano anemone on one small piece of rock can I just pull that out and be done with it?

Thanks again,

mark

Yes, and that's what I would do before they multiply (and they do this fairly quickly). Also, I'd keep an eye on your tank for them for the next month or so. 

• Like 1
22 minutes ago, mark.payton said:

Thanks again,

mark

yep, just pull it out and watch for others...........its a shame because i think they are pretty.

NoOneLikesADryTang
4 minutes ago, WV Reefer said:

yep, just pull it out and watch for others...........its a shame because i think they are pretty.