ReefCleaners.org

Ammonia from salt mix?

chaostactics

Before I put the manufacturer on blast and also attempt to rip them a new one (i don't think they're going to care) are there any other explanations for this?

Tap water Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI water storage container Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI water storage container poured into the same 7 gallon instant ocean bucket i've been using for 10-15 years to mix make up water Ammonia = 0

Water in above said bucket after mixing in 3 cups of salt into 5 gallons of water Ammonia = .25-.3 tested with both an API test kit and a Tropic Marin test kit. 

Tank water Ammonia = .2ish ( I had just done a number of large changes over the last week to try and drive the ammonia down till I could figure out what the source was. I hadn't thought to test my newly mixed saltwater until a couple of days ago. 

This was checked with and API and Tropic Marin test kits. 

The salt used was a brand new sealed bag of a 200 gal box purchased within the last month. 

• Like 1
9 minutes ago, chaostactics said:

Before I put the manufacturer on blast and also attempt to rip them a new one (i don't think they're going to care) are there any other explanations for this?

Tap water Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI water storage container Ammonia = 0

Water from RO/DI water storage container poured into the same 7 gallon instant ocean bucket i've been using for 10-15 years to mix make up water Ammonia = 0

Water in above said bucket after mixing in 3 cups of salt into 5 gallons of water Ammonia = .25-.3 tested with both an API test kit and a Tropic Marin test kit. 

Tank water Ammonia = .2ish ( I had just done a number of large changes over the last week to try and drive the ammonia down till I could figure out what the source was. I hadn't thought to test my newly mixed saltwater until a couple of days ago. 

This was checked with and API and Tropic Marin test kits.