Coral Vue Hydros

My First Saltwater Tank

Lyndsey Camille

Lyndsey Camille

Week One: My First Saltwater Tank

Hi Everyone! This is my very first saltwater tank. I've been maintaining a Betta fish for several months; however, all the research on my Betta continued to lead me to the saltwater world. I've always been intrigued but never took the time to research and really understand how to do it. With my eagerness to learn, I've been researching as much as I can and decided to start my tank on Sept. 6, 2019. Below are a few details:

1. Fluval Evo 13.5 Gallon Tank (added my own heater)
  2. Live rock from my LfS
  3. Premixed saltwater from my LFS
  4. Caribsea Black Live Sand

IMG_4149.thumb.jpg.1aa7e5f6440456e395ed83826ff842d9.jpg

Below you can see my original live rock setup. After adding the water, I patiently waited one week before heading back to the LFS for my first water test. However, that's after a few unidentified growths popped up...

58951203859__3B0344F3-9053-4B84-891E-4EDCB5EFE604.thumb.JPG.6d2f727314856921e727a9c76ae77752.JPG

Majano Anemone?!?!

During week one of cycling, I noticed a few...growths popping up on my live rock. Being the newbie that I am, I had no clue what they were. Being also a researcher, I asked two LFS reps for their opinion, and, of course, this forum. Low and behold, it's majano anemone. I got mixed reviews on whether to keep them or remove. As this is my first tank, and I want everything to run smoothly, I opted to remove the little guys using the vinegar method. 

58985000303__2B831431-5EE0-4998-A0F3-98722237ADD4.thumb.JPG.103ee722c4fab42d77d58cee3922b95f.JPG

Week One, Complete! My first water test was totally normal and I was recommended to wait one more week. 

• Like 1
Lyndsey Camille

Week Two: Starfish and Cycling Complete....