Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Low alkalinity, what does this mean and what should I do?

Hannahhhh

I have a pretty new tank and my alkalinity is low. I’m new to the hoby and I’m struggling to understand what exactly this means, why it happened, and how to fix it. Can you guys help me out? If you don’t have time to explain stuff, I would be thankful if you could include a link to a good explaination. The stuff I’m reading online just has me more confused. 

Temp: 80.2

Ammonia: 0

Nitrite: 0

Nitrate: ~15

Alkalinity: 6.5 dKH (0.5dKH resolution)

pH: 8.2

I have a fluval evo 13.5 and a MAME design protein skimmer.

I have a tiny clownfish and a small cardinalfish. One Mexican turbo snail, a few hermit crabs, and a pom pom crab. 

I also have a small Xenia and a small spotted mushroom coral. 

Simply put, alkalinity is a measurement of your system's capacity to resist sudden drops in pH. Alkalinity is maintained in your aquarium's water by various compounds, but the most important ones to aquarists are carbonate or bicarbonate compounds, hence the common term "degrees of carbonate (or as the abbreviation goes, "karbonat", from German) hardness" (dKH). The higher your reading of dKH, the more resistance your tank has against dips in pH. Tracking your dKH is important because pH affects the amount of calcium in the water that is available to corals and other reef-building organisms, with higher pH allowing for a higher concentration of calcium in the water. For this reason many reef aquarists that are adding calcium to their systems are careful to maintain a certain level of dKH. This helps to maintain a consistently high pH, which ensures that the water in the aquarium remains saturated with calcium to encourage rapid growth in stony corals.