SaltCritters.com

Finally my own 15 gallon nano reef!

1-Little-Fishy

1-Little-Fishy

Hey everyone, as you can probably tell i am completely new to the saltwater hobby and i have just started my first tank. My tank is a 15 gallon breeder.

Equipment

Lights: 2×24 watt t5ho bulbs from the brand pacific sun

Heater: Resun 50 watt

Skimmer: Tunze comline 9001

Flow: at the moment only 600 l/h but soon to be replaced with the Sicce voyager 1 nano

Live stock:

1 electric blue hermit crab

1 skunk cleaner shrimp

1 figure 8 puffer

Unfortunatly we were told by the lfs that the figure 8 puffer was completely adaptable to salt water but we had our doubts and did a lot of searching on the internet for people who could back that story up, there were indeed a few who managed to keep the figure 8's in salt water. Since i have always had a weak spot for the figure 8's i decided i would try it as well. We had a lot less luck, at first everything seemed fine and he was eating well but after about 2 weeks i started noticing ich and we are currently trying everything we can with medicine and garlic to try and get rid of the ich. The puffer is still not rid of it and he has his ups and downs, one day he seems conpletely fine but the next he is covered again and nothing seems to help.

So aside from that 😛

the tank contains about 6/7 kg live rock which we bought from other people

The corals:

we have

3 heads duncan

1 green toadstool

1 elegance coral 'golden tip'

3 heads blastomussa

1 head hammer

frogspawn

purple torch coral

some xenia

A mix of buttons

Some leather coral

1 frag seriatopora calendarium to try if we have a stable enough tank to keep sps coral

we have also found a little shell with something in it, it looks like some sort of mussel but its fairly small

Let me know if i should post some photo's! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

btw: I don't know if this is the right place for this thread 😁

• Like 1
1-Little-Fishy